President Joe Biden accepts role as Honorary Chairman for the 2022 Presidents Cup

CHARLOTTE, North Carolina – Joe Biden, the 46th President of the United States of America, has accepted an invitation to be Honorary Chairman of the 2022 Presidents Cup when the competition returns to the United States for the 14th staging at Quail Hollow Club in Charlotte, North Carolina, September 20-25.

“We are thankful for President Biden’s acceptance of our invitation to serve as Honorary Chairman for the 2022 Presidents Cup with the event’s return to the United States,” said PGA TOUR Commissioner Jay Monahan. “The Presidents Cup has a long-standing tradition of hosting world leaders, spanning several decades and many countries across all party lines, and the addition of President Biden to that list of men and women will help promote and grow the event worldwide and further our efforts in unifying people through the game of golf.”

President Biden is part of a distinguished group of world leaders who have previously held the position of Honorary Chairman at the Presidents Cup.

The Presidents Cup, a team match play competition featuring 24 of the world’s top golfers – 12 from the United States and 12 from around the world, excluding Europe – is held biennially, and since 1996 has alternated between the United States and international venues. The U.S. Team has won 11 of the 13 previous Presidents Cups, and the only win by the International Team came at the 1998 event in Melbourne. A historic 17-17 tie came in 2003 when the event was held in South Africa.

Quail Hollow Club will be the fifth golf course in the United States to host the prestigious competition, joining Robert Trent Jones Golf Club in Prince William County, Virginia (1994, 1996, 2000, 2005), TPC Harding Park in San Francisco (2009), Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio (2013) and Liberty National Golf Club in Jersey City, New Jersey (2017).

Davis Love III will lead the U.S. Team as captain for the first time in 2022 as it returns to American soil, and Trevor Immelman will lead the International Team in search of their first win since 1998.

For more information about the Presidents Cup, or to purchase tickets, please visit