The Presidents Cup: U.S. and International Team standings updates

June 19, 2013

DUBLIN, Ohio – While Phil Mickelson, Hunter Mahan, Billy Horschel, Ernie Els and Jason Day fell short in their bid to win the U.S. Open, their strong performances continue a season of players jockeying for position on their respective teams when The Presidents Cup comes to Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio, October 1-6.

Mickelson and Mahan currently rank No. 4 and No. 5 in the U.S. Team standings.

Mickelson held at least a share of the lead each of the first three rounds at the U.S. Open, but a final-round 4-over 74 left him two strokes behind Rose. Mickelson, a 41-time PGA TOUR winner, finished runner-up for the 29th time of his career (478 career starts) and the sixth time in 23 U.S. Open appearances (1999, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2009, 2013).

The T2 at the U.S. Open puts Mickelson at No. 4 in the FedExCup standings. Mickelson has played for the U.S. Team on nine previous occasions, the only player to have qualified for and played in every Presidents Cup in history.

Another player who is making a move this year in the U.S. standings, and who also spent time at the top of the U.S. Open leaderboard, is Horschel. The 2012 Zurich Classic of New Orleans winner started the 2013 season 91st in the U.S. Team standings. With seven top-10 finishes and 15 made cuts this season, including his first career PGA TOUR victory in New Orleans and a T4 at the U.S. Open, Horschel is now No. 12 in the standings and looking at his first Presidents Cup berth.

From the International side, Els and Day are also ranked No. 4 and No. 5 in the standings.

Els is one of six players from South Africa currently in the top 10 in the International Team standings. Day just missed a playoff at the Masters earlier this year and is the only player to post top-10 finishes in the first two major championships of the season, finishing third at the Masters and T2 at the U.S. Open. The Australian has finished in the top three at four of his in 11 career major championship starts: T2-2011 Masters, 2nd-2011 U.S. Open, 3rd-2013 Masters, T2-2013 U.S. Open. Day made his Presidents Cup debut in 2011 at Royal Melbourne.

The top 10 U.S. players who earn the most official PGA TOUR money beginning with the 2011 TOUR Championship by Coca-Cola through the 2013 Deutsche Bank Championships, with money earned this year counting as double, will automatically make the U.S. Team. The top 10 international players (excluding those eligible for the European Ryder Cup team) from the Official World Golf Ranking as of Monday, September 2 (post-Deutsche Bank Championship), will automatically make the International Team. Fred Couples and Nick Price, captains of the U.S. and International Teams, respectively, will round out their teams with two captain’s picks each on Wednesday, September 4.

U.S. Team Standings (Top 10 earn automatic bids)

1. Tiger Woods
2. Matt Kuchar
3. Brandt Snedeker
4. Phil Mickelson
5. Hunter Mahan
6. Keegan Bradley
7. Steve Stricker
8. Webb Simpson
9. Dustin Johnson
10. Bill Haas
11. Bubba Watson
12. Billy Horschel
13. Jason Dufner
14. Zach Johnson
15. Kevin Streelman

International Team Standings (Top 10 earn automatic bids)

1. Adam Scott
2. Louis Oosthuizen
3. Charl Schwartzel
4. Jason Day
5. Ernie Els
6. Branden Grace
7. Hideki Matsuyama
8. Tim Clark
9. Thongchai Jaidee
10. Richard Sterne
11. George Coetzee
12. John Senden
13. Marc Leishman
14. Angel Cabrera
15. Hiroyuki Fujita

The Presidents Cup, a team, match-play competition featuring 24 of the world’s top golfers – 12 from the United

States and 12 from around the world, excluding Europe – is held every two years, and since 1996 has alternated between United States and international venues. The Presidents Cup was developed to give the world’s best non-European players an opportunity to compete in international team match-play competition. The U.S. Team has won seven of the nine previous Presidents Cups, and the only win by the International Team came at the 1998 event in Melbourne. The Presidents Cup 2003 ended in a tie. Fred Couples is returning as U.S. Team captain in 2013, and fellow World Golf Hall of Fame member Nick Price will lead the International Team.

The Presidents Cup is a unique golf event in that there is no purse or prize money. Players are not personally paid for their participation, but each competitor allocates an equal portion of the funds generated to charities of his choice.

Since the event’s inception, more than $27 million has been raised for charity from event proceeds, as well as contributions made on behalf of The Presidents Cup, including a record charitable donation of $4.5 million from the 2011 event alone. Citi and Rolex are the exclusive Global Partners of The Presidents Cup.

Currently, weekly tickets for The Presidents Cup are on sale, available for $210 for grounds access only or $360 for Captains’ Club access. Youth 12 and under are admitted free to The Presidents Cup (grounds access only) with a ticketed adult. Tickets are available via or by calling 888-401-8000. For updates on The Presidents Cup, check, join us on Facebook at