President Obama reprises role as Honorary Chairman of The Presidents Cup 2013

May 24, 2013

DUBLIN, Ohio – President Barack Obama, the 44th President of the United States of America, has accepted an invitation to be Honorary Chairman of The Presidents Cup when the competition returns to the United States for the 10th staging, this year at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio, October 1-6. Obama served as Honorary Chairman in 2009 when the event was last played in the United States, at TPC Harding Park in San Francisco, Calif.

“We are truly honored that President Obama has once again accepted our invitation to be Honorary Chairman of The Presidents Cup in October,” said PGA TOUR Commissioner Tim Finchem. “In 2009, he was gracious enough to continue the long-standing tradition of world leaders’ support of the event, which dates back to the first Presidents Cup in 1994. His involvement again this year serves to only further enhance the stature of The Presidents Cup and the game of golf as a whole.”

President Obama is part of a distinguished group of nine world leaders who have held the position of Honorary Chairman at The Presidents Cup. He is preceded by Australian Prime Minister Julia Gillard, who was the first woman to serve in the role for the 2011 event in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.

1994 – 38th United States President, Gerald R. Ford
1996 – 41st United States President, George H.W. Bush
1998 – Prime Minister of Australia, John Howard
2000 – 42nd United States President, William Jefferson Clinton
2003 – President Thabo Mbeki, Republic of South Africa
2005 – 43rd United States President, George W. Bush
2007 – Prime Minister of Canada, Stephen Harper
2009 – 44th United States President, Barack Obama
2011 – Prime Minister of Australia, Julia Gillard

The Presidents Cup, a team match play competition featuring 24 of the world’s top golfers – 12 from the United States and 12 from around the world, excluding Europe – is held every two years, and since 1996 has alternated between United States and international venues. The Presidents Cup was developed to give the world’s best non-European players an opportunity to compete in international team match-play competition. The U.S. Team has won seven of the nine previous Presidents Cups, and the only win by the International Team came at the 1998 event in Melbourne. The Presidents Cup 2003 ended in a tie.

Muirfield Village Golf Club becomes the third U.S. golf course to host The Presidents Cup, joining Robert Trent Jones Golf Club in Prince William County, Va., (1994, 1996, 2000) and Harding Park Golf Course in San Francisco, Calif., (2009). Muirfield Village is the first club in the world to host three of golf’s most prestigious international team competitions—The Presidents Cup, The Ryder Cup and The Solheim Cup. The Americans currently hold a 7-1-1 record in the competition, with Fred Couples leading the U.S. Team to victory in 2009 and 2011. Couples will return as U.S. Team captain in 2013, and World Golf Hall of Fame member Nick Price will lead the International Team.

The Presidents Cup is a unique golf event in that there is no purse or prize money. Players are not personally paid for their participation, but each competitor receives an allocation of funds for charity of their choice. Since 1994, more than $27 million has been contributed to charities around the world, including a record $4.5 million distributed from the staging of the 2011 event.